21 October 2014 - 6:11PM
(PDF 594KB)
20 May 2014 - 3:40PM
(PDF 106KB)
11 March 2014 - 5:49PM
(PDF 512KB)
26 February 2014 - 3:09PM
(PDF 67KB)
26 February 2014 - 3:03PM
(PDF 117KB)
Marathon Resources has a small board of extremely knowledgeable and highly regarded resource industry professionals, who are experienced in bringing major projects to fruition.
 Peter Williams (BEc, FCA)
Chairman (non-executive)

Peter Williams is a chartered accountant with extensive professional and commercial experience. He has broad experience as managing director and chairman of public companies.

Peter was a partner of Deloitte for 17 years and partner in charge of the South Australian practice from 1987 to 1991. He joined the Lloyd Helicopter group as managing director in 1991 and from 1993-1998 was managing director of Enterprise Solutions Asia Pacific Limited.

He conducts a consultancy practice from the Deloitte offices, is involved with several private companies and was chairman of TEC 29 from 1999 to 2002.

His current roles also include Chairman of AquaOysters Limited, and Steriline Racing Pty Ltd.

He previously was a director of venture capital companies Momentum Ventures Limited and Playford Capital Pty Ltd.

Peter is a member of Marathon's Audit Committee.

 Dr John G (Shad) Linley
(PhD, BSc (Hons))
Chief Executive Officer

Dr John Linley was appointed a non-executive director of Marathon on 30 June 2008 and appointed CEO on 10 June 2009. Dr Linley is also a Senior Executive of the Talbot Group and a non-executive director of Kagara Ltd.

His extensive corporate and resources industry expertise includes the post of chief executive at Sun Metals Corporation in Townsville, Queensland, where he led the development of the world's most efficient and environmentally sensitive zinc refinery located on the edge of the Great Barrier Reef.

Dr Linley has also served as vice president of TexasGulf Australia, director of the Centre for Strategic Industrial and Resource Development in Brisbane, and with Fluor Engineers and Constructions, where he was involved in the Olympic Dam project.

He is a geologist by training and gained his PhD from the University of Adelaide.

 Christopher Ryan
(BEcon (UWA), MBA (UNSW))
Non-Executive Director

Mr Christopher Ryan was appointed as a non executive Director of the Company on 26 February 2014.

Mr Ryan is the Principal of established Sydney-based corporate advisory firm, Westchester Corporate Finance, which specialises in advising listed companies on fundraising options, mergers and acquisitions and associated transactions.

Prior to forming Westchester in 1996, Mr Ryan was with Schroders Australia for 27 years. This included 22 years in the firmís corporate finance division of which he was a director for 19 years, providing specialist advice on project financing and mergers and acquisitions, mainly in the Australian minerals and oil and gas sectors. He also served three years in Schrodersí investment division and two years as an economist monitoring influences on interest and exchange rates.

Mr Ryan is also a non-executive director of ASX-listed investment company, Bentley Capital Limited.

 Chris Schacht
Non-Executive Director

The Honourable Chris Schacht was appointed a non-executive director of Marathon on 24 January 2008.

One of Australiaís most highly respected political minds with vast international Government experience, Chris served in the Senate of Federal Parliament for 15 years until 2002.

During his time as a Minister from 1993 to 1996, he held the portfolios at various times of Science, Small Business, Customs and Construction. As Minister, he was responsible for the Patents Office, Commonwealth Research Centres, Standards, Space Industry, Shipbuilding and Business Franchising.

Prior to being appointed as Minister, Chris was an active member of many Senate and Party policy committees covering Economics, Industry Development, Science, Communications, Foreign Affairs, Defence, Trade, Human Rights and Transport.

He also worked as a ministerial advisor to the South Australian State Government from 1970 to 1973 and Federal Government from 1973 to 1975 in the portfolio areas of Agriculture, Fisheries, Land Management, Forestry, Defence Supply, Veterans, Telecommunications and Postal.

Chris is also the President of the Australian Volleyball Federation and in October 2006 was elected to the Legal Commission of the FIVB (Federation Internationale de Volleyball) for a four-year term.